Irish DPC Fines HSE EUR 645,000 Over Rotting Records

Independently fact-checkedBy Recording Law Editorial Team11 min read

Independently fact-checked against primary sources (last audited September 2, 2026). · 4 primary sources cited on this page. How we verify our legal content

Irish DPC Fines HSE EUR 645,000 Over Rotting Records

Frequently Asked Questions

How much was the HSE fined by Ireland's Data Protection Commission?

The DPC fined the HSE a total of EUR 645,000, made up of EUR 300,000 for infringing Articles 5(1)(f) and 32(1) GDPR, EUR 300,000 for infringing Article 5(1)(e) GDPR, EUR 30,000 for infringing Article 33(1) GDPR, and EUR 15,000 for infringing Article 34(1) GDPR. The DPC also issued a formal reprimand and a set of corrective orders.

What triggered the DPC's inquiry into the HSE?

The inquiry, which opened on May 24, 2024, followed two breach notifications the HSE filed with the DPC: one in October 2023 after unauthorised access to records at St. Loman's Hospital in Mullingar, and one in November 2023 after unauthorised access to records at St. Conal's Hospital in Letterkenny. A third exposure, involving the basement of St. Loman's Hospital, came to the HSE's attention in April 2024.

Where were the mishandled records stored?

The records were held at St. Loman's Hospital in Mullingar, County Westmeath, a disused psychiatric hospital contaminated with asbestos, and at the New Building of St. Conal's Hospital in Letterkenny, County Donegal, a disused psychiatric hospital contaminated with severe mould. A further set of records was stored in the basement of St. Loman's Hospital.

Can the HSE appeal the DPC's decision?

Section 150(5) of the Data Protection Act 2018 lets a person affected by a legally binding DPC decision appeal within 28 days of receiving notice, and section 142 provides a separate route for the fines, under which an appeal against a fine above EUR 75,000 goes to the High Court and one at or below that figure goes to the Circuit Court. If no appeal is brought, section 143 requires the DPC to apply to the Circuit Court to confirm the fines. The decision was notified to the HSE on August 25, 2026. The DPC's press release does not state whether the HSE intends to appeal.

What is the HSE now required to do?

Beyond the fine and reprimand, the DPC ordered the HSE to audit every facility where it stores paper files, build a system for tracking what personal data it holds and where, destroy records it no longer needs, remove records from any facility unfit for secure storage, and regularly test its compliance with its own retention policies. The release does not specify a compliance deadline for completing this work.

Is the full text of the DPC's decision available yet?

Not as of this writing. The DPC's September 2, 2026 announcement summarizes the findings and fines but states that the full decision document will be published "in due course."

Updates

Independently fact-checked against the cited primary sources

Sources and References

  1. Data Protection Commission, "Data Protection Commission announces Final Decision following Inquiry into the Health Service Executive (HSE)" (September 2, 2026)(dataprotection.ie).gov
  2. Data Protection Act 2018, Section 150, Right to effective judicial remedy (enacted text)(irishstatutebook.ie).gov
  3. Data Protection Act 2018, Section 142, Appeal against decision to impose administrative fine (Circuit Court up to EUR 75,000, High Court above)(irishstatutebook.ie).gov
  4. Data Protection Act 2018, Section 143, Confirmation by Circuit Court of decision to impose administrative fine(irishstatutebook.ie).gov
Share: