Sprouts FACTA Settlement: Claim Window Closed, Nov 19 Hearing

At a glance
- Status
- Pending final approval
- Defendant
- Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc.; SFM, LLC
- Settlement fund
- $5,000,000
- Claim deadline
- August 5, 2026
- No-proof cash option
- Yes — pro-rata share of the Net Cash Fund. Class members who already received written email notice with a Notice Number starting with 'P' file a Short-Form Claim Form under penalty of perjury with NO proof required.
- Estimated payout
- pro-rata share of the Net Cash Fund. Class members who already received written email notice with a Notice Number starting with 'P' file a Short-Form Claim Form under penalty of perjury with NO proof required.
- Administrator
- Atticus Administration LLC
- Official site
- www.settleinfo.com
- Court
- Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles
- Case number
- 22STCV26572 (consolidated with 23STCV08339)
Last verified September 9, 2026
Key dates
| Milestone | Date | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Claim deadline | August 5, 2026(passed) | Last day to file for a payment |
| Opt-out (exclusion) deadline | April 7, 2026(passed) | Last day to leave the settlement and keep the right to sue |
| Objection deadline | April 7, 2026(passed) | Last day to object to the terms |
| Final approval hearing | November 19, 2026 | When the judge decides whether to approve the settlement |
| Expected payout | Not yet scheduled | Payments are not sent until after final approval and any appeals |
Where to file
Sprouts Farmers Market FACTA Receipt Settlement is administered by Atticus Administration LLC. The only place to file is the official settlement website:
Verify on the official sitewww.settleinfo.com
Filing is free. No legitimate settlement charges a fee to file a claim.
You cannot file on RecordingLaw.com. We are an independent publisher, not the settlement administrator, and we are not affiliated with any court, agency, or defendant.
The Sprouts Farmers Market FACTA receipt claim window closed on August 5, 2026, and as of September 9, 2026 the settlement is awaiting the court's final approval decision at a hearing set for November 19, 2026. This is not a data breach. It is a receipt-printing case: two consolidated lawsuits accuse Sprouts of printing more than the last five digits of customers' payment card numbers on printed store receipts, which is a violation of a federal law called FACTA.
A $5,000,000 non-reversionary cash fund is set aside to pay class members who file a valid claim. "Non-reversionary" means none of that money reverts to Sprouts; it all gets paid out to the class and to court-approved fees and costs. What any one person actually receives depends on how many people file, not on the size of the fund alone.
What Sprouts is accused of doing
Federal law, specifically the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA), requires businesses to truncate payment card information on electronically printed receipts. A merchant is allowed to print no more than the last five digits of a credit or debit card number, and the expiration date cannot appear at all.
Two lawsuits, later consolidated, accused Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. and SFM, LLC of not doing that. Larry Tran v. Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. (case number 22STCV26572) and Robert Cohen v. Sprouts (23STCV08339) were both filed in the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles, and were later consolidated into a single case. The claims center on printed receipts that showed more than the truncated last five digits of a customer's card number.
Where the case stands right now, as of July 2026
This case has taken an unusually long road to a claims window. Filed back in 2022 and later consolidated, it went up to California's Court of Appeal, which remanded it back down specifically so the settlement-approval process could move forward. That detour is part of why a 2022 case only reached an open claims period in 2026.

Three dates have already passed. The deadline to exclude yourself from the class, meaning to opt out and keep your own separate right to sue Sprouts, was April 7, 2026, and the objection deadline was that same date. The claim deadline, August 5, 2026, has also passed.
The claim deadline itself, August 5, 2026, has now closed. Unusually, the final approval hearing, where a judge decides whether to sign off on the settlement, is not until November 19, 2026, months after the claim deadline. Claims were collected before final court approval, and the record does not state an expected payout date, so there is no confirmed timeline yet for when money would reach class members.
Who's in the class
The class definition has two branches, one for card payments and one for EBT (electronic benefit transfer) payments, each with its own date range. You may be eligible if either of the following describes you:
You used a personal credit or debit card to make a purchase at any Sprouts Farmers Market store between August 16, 2020 and October 31, 2022, and the printed receipt you received showed more than the last five digits of your card number.
Or, you used an EBT card at a Sprouts store between March 15, 2021 and April 15, 2023, and the printed receipt showed more than the last five digits of your card number.
Simply having shopped at Sprouts during those years is not, on its own, enough. The claim turns on what your specific printed receipt showed. If you no longer have old receipts from that period, that does not necessarily rule you out. It depends on which claim path applies to you, covered below.
How much you might actually get
The settlement record does not state a fixed dollar figure per class member, and there is no stated maximum payout to point to here. What is confirmed is the structure: eligible class members who file a valid claim split a $5,000,000 non-reversionary cash fund on a pro-rata basis.
Your share depends on how many other people file valid claims and what the court approves in attorneys' fees and administrative costs, both of which come out of that same fund before it is divided. Treat $5,000,000 as the size of the pool, not as a number tied to any one person's check; a pro-rata fund like this one typically pays less per claimant than an even split of the headline figure would suggest.
What proof you need, and the one path that isn't automatic
This is easy to get wrong, because it is not the same for every class member. Sprouts and the administrator already sent written notice by email to some class members, and those notices carry a unique Notice Number. If your Notice Number begins with the letter "P," you can file a Short-Form Claim Form, signed under penalty of perjury, with no supporting documentation required.

If you did not receive that direct written notice, or your Notice Number does not begin with "P," a different claim path applies to you, and the verified record does not spell out exactly what that path requires. Do not assume it was automatically proof-free just because the Short-Form path was; the official settlement site still describes which path applied to which class members.
How filing works
Filing was handled entirely by Atticus Administration LLC, the court-appointed settlement administrator, through the official settlement site; that link renders separately on this page and is still where to check the status of a claim already filed. The claim deadline was August 5, 2026, and it has passed; under the notice terms a claim was timely if it was submitted online or postmarked by that date.
If you filed with a Notice Number starting with "P" from an email Sprouts or the administrator sent you, keep that number on hand; the administrator uses it to identify your claim. If you believe you are a class member but never filed, the claim window has closed and the official site is the only place to confirm where the case stands.
If you're not sure where you stand
The class definition depends on what your specific receipt printed, not just on having shopped at Sprouts. If you kept a printed Sprouts receipt from the covered years, check it now against the last-five-digits rule described above.

If you opted out by the April 7, 2026 deadline, you are outside the class; opting out and filing a claim were mutually exclusive. If you did nothing by that date, you remain in the class, but the August 5, 2026 claim deadline has passed, so no new claim can be filed.
For other open, verified settlements RecordingLaw is tracking, see the data breach and privacy settlement tracker.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Sprouts Farmers Market FACTA settlement?
It is a $5,000,000 class action settlement resolving two consolidated lawsuits, Larry Tran v. Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. and Robert Cohen v. Sprouts, filed in the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles. The suits alleged Sprouts printed more than the last five digits of customers' card numbers on receipts, in violation of the federal Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA). It is not a data breach case.
Am I eligible for the Sprouts settlement?
You may be eligible if you used a personal credit or debit card at a Sprouts store between August 16, 2020 and October 31, 2022, or an EBT card between March 15, 2021 and April 15, 2023, and the printed receipt you received showed more than the last five digits of the card number. The claim turns on what your specific receipt printed, not just on having shopped there.
How much is the Sprouts settlement payout?
The settlement record does not state a fixed per-person amount. Eligible class members who file a valid claim split a $5,000,000 non-reversionary fund on a pro-rata basis, so your share depends on how many valid claims are filed and what the court approves in fees and costs.
What is the deadline to file a Sprouts settlement claim?
The claim deadline was August 5, 2026, and as of September 9, 2026 it has passed. The exclusion (opt-out) and objection deadlines, both April 7, 2026, passed earlier.
Do I need proof to file a Sprouts settlement claim?
It depends which path applies to you. A Notice Number starting with 'P' lets you file a Short-Form Claim under penalty of perjury with no documentation required. Without that, a different claim path applies, and the verified record does not specify what documentation it requires.
Can I still opt out of the Sprouts settlement?
No. The deadline to exclude yourself from the class was April 7, 2026, and that window has closed. The claim window closed on August 5, 2026 as well, so neither option remains open.
When will Sprouts settlement payments arrive?
There is no confirmed payout date. The final approval hearing, where a judge decides whether to approve the settlement, is scheduled for November 19, 2026, which is after the August 5, 2026 claim deadline. The verified record does not state when payments would be issued after that hearing.
Is settleinfo.com the real Sprouts settlement website?
As of September 9, 2026, settleinfo.com is the official court-approved claims site for this settlement, administered by Atticus Administration LLC. Go to that address directly rather than through a link in an unexpected email or text message.
How to tell a settlement notice is real
Check the case name, case number, and court against the official settlement site. Go to that site directly instead of clicking a link in an email or text. Nobody legitimate will call, text, or email out of the blue asking for your Social Security number, bank account, or card details, and nobody will charge you to file. Report anyone who does at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Informational only. Not legal, tax, or financial advice, and not affiliated with any settlement.
RecordingLaw.com is an independent legal-information publisher. We are not a law firm, not a settlement administrator, and not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any court, government agency, defendant, or claims administrator described on this page. Reading this page does not create an attorney-client relationship.
We do not process claims and we never collect your claim information. You cannot file a claim on RecordingLaw.com. To file, opt out, object, or check your status, use only the official settlement administrator identified above. We link to it for your convenience.
Filing a legitimate claim is free. No legitimate settlement or administrator will charge you a fee to file, or ask for your Social Security number, bank, or card details by unsolicited call, text, or email. If someone does, it is likely a scam. Report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Deadlines, amounts, and approval status change and are set by the court. We verify against the official administrator and court records, but confirm the current details on the official site before acting. Nothing here guarantees eligibility, a payment, or any amount. Settlement payments may be taxable. See IRS Publication 4345. and consult a tax professional. For advice about your specific situation, consult a licensed attorney in your state. Affiliate disclosure.
Updates
Updated settlement status and dates: Title advertised a passed deadline ('$5M Fund, Claims Due Aug. 5') now 'Claim Window Closed, Nov 19 Hearing'. settleinfo.com Important Dates read 2026-09-09 confirms the August 5, 2026 claim deadline and the November 19,
Governing law re-checked for recent changes
The Law Behind This Article
This article rests on the statutory provisions below, held in our own legal record and retrieved from the official source. Tap a section to read the operative text.
United States Code Title 15
§ 1681cRequirements relating to information contained in consumer reportsIn forcecited in 54 of our articles
Except as authorized under subsection (b), no consumer reporting agency may make any consumer report containing any of the following items of information: Cases under title 11 or under the Bankruptcy Act that, from the date of entry of the order for relief or the date of adjudication, as the case may be, antedate the report by more than 10 years. Civil suits, civil judgments, and records of arrest that, from date of entry, antedate the report by more than seven years or until the governing statute of limitations has expired, whichever is the longer period. Paid tax liens which, from date of payment, antedate the report by more than seven years. Accounts placed for collection or charged to profit and loss which antedate the report by more than seven years. Any other adverse item of information, other than records of convictions of crimes which antedates the report by more than seven years.
Official text (excerpt) · last checked 2026-07-28 · Read the full text in our law library · Verify at uscode.house.gov
Cited in 383 court opinions in our collectionLatest citing opinion in our collection: 2026
In the courts (editorial summary, independently checked):Katz v. Donna Karan Co. (2017) addressed the FACTA truncation rule in 1681c(g) and affirmed dismissal for lack of Article III standing, treating material risk of harm as a fact question. Edward Seamans v. Temple University (2014) held the seven-year window in 1681c(a)(4) is extended for an education loan only until that loan is repaid.
Opinions citing this section in our collection:
- Katz v. Donna Karan Co. (Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit 2017, 872 F.3d 114)✓A shopper sued two stores whose receipts printed the first six digits of his credit card number; the Second Circuit affirmed dismissal for lack of standing, seeing no clear error in the finding that those digits show only the card issuer, not a material risk of identity theft.
- Edward Seamans v. Temple University (Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit 2014, 744 F.3d 853)✓A defaulted university loan kept appearing on a borrower's credit reports after he repaid it because the school never reported the delinquency date; the Third Circuit held the Higher Education Act suspends section 1681c(a)(4)'s aging-off rule only until repayment.
- Gonzales v. Arrow Financial Services, LLC (Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit 2011, 660 F.3d 1055)✓A debt buyer offered to settle health club debts over seven years old, saying that if it was reporting the account the bureaus would be told it was settled; the Ninth Circuit, treating those debts as unreportable under section 1681c(a)(4), called that implication misleading.
Identified automatically from the court opinions citing this section — not a ranking of which case controls.
Also relied on in: How Long Does a Felony Stay on Your Record? (2026), Alabama Background Check Laws (2026 Guide), Louisiana Background Check Laws (2026 Guide)
Search our full record of US law — 2.1 million sections, every state + federal →
Sources and References
- FTC: Slip Showing? Federal Law Requires All Businesses to Truncate Credit Card Information on Receipts(ftc.gov).gov
- 15 U.S.C. § 1681c(g), Requirements Relating to Information Contained in Consumer Reports (card truncation requirement)(uscode.house.gov).gov
- Official Notice of Class Action Lawsuit and Settlement, Tran v. Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. / Cohen v. Sprouts(settleinfo.com)
- Sprouts Farmers Market Settlement (Official Court-Approved Site, administered by Atticus Administration LLC)(settleinfo.com)