Lands' End Settlement: Claim Window Closed, Final Hearing Nov 6, 2026
At a glance
- Status
- Pending final approval
- Defendant
- Lands' End, Inc.
- Settlement fund
- Not publicly disclosed
- Claim deadline
- October 22, 2026
- No-proof cash option
- Yes — $60.00 one-time flat cash payment, no documentation required, or up to $5,000.00 for documented out-of-pocket losses
- Max documented payout
- $5,000
- Administrator
- Simpluris
- Official site
- landsenddatasettlement.com
- Court
- Circuit Court for Iowa County, Wisconsin
- Case number
- Jones, et al. v. Lands' End, Inc., No. 30301
Last verified October 23, 2026
Key dates
| Milestone | Date | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Claim deadline | October 22, 2026(passed) | Last day to file for a payment |
| Opt-out (exclusion) deadline | October 7, 2026(passed) | Last day to leave the settlement and keep the right to sue |
| Objection deadline | October 7, 2026(passed) | Last day to object to the terms |
| Final approval hearing | November 6, 2026 | When the judge decides whether to approve the settlement |
| Expected payout | Not yet scheduled | Payments are not sent until after final approval and any appeals |
Where to file
Lands' End Data Breach Settlement (Jones v. Lands' End) is administered by Simpluris. The only place to file is the official settlement website:
Verify on the official sitelandsenddatasettlement.com
Filing is free. No legitimate settlement charges a fee to file a claim.
You cannot file on RecordingLaw.com. We are an independent publisher, not the settlement administrator, and we are not affiliated with any court, agency, or defendant.
What Happened in the Lands' End Data Breach
Lands' End, Inc. notified affected individuals that their personal information may have been accessed in a data security incident that occurred in December 2024. The official notice does not describe the affected group as Lands' End shoppers, and class membership turns on whose information was compromised, not on whether you ever bought anything from Lands' End. Based on the official settlement notice, the exposed information included names, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, driver's license or passport numbers, and, for some people, medical information.
That combination is worth taking seriously. A name paired with a Social Security number and a government-issued ID number gives a thief nearly everything needed to open new credit, file a fraudulent tax return, or pass identity checks in your name. Our guide to what a scammer can do with your information breaks down the risk from a Social Security number, an ID number and a date of birth one by one, with the free fix for each. If you received a notice from Lands' End about this incident, treat it as a signal to act, not just paperwork to file away.
The incident led to a lawsuit, Jones v. Lands' End, Inc., filed in the Circuit Court for Iowa County, Wisconsin (Case No. 30301). Rather than continue litigating, Lands' End agreed to resolve the claims through a class settlement, which is now moving toward final court approval.
Where the Settlement Stands Right Now
As of September 2026, the settlement has preliminary approval and is in its claims period, but it has not yet received final approval from the court. The court has scheduled a final approval hearing for November 6, 2026. Before that hearing, class members who want to opt out of the settlement or formally object to its terms have until October 7, 2026 to do so. Anyone who wants to submit a claim for payment has a separate, later deadline: October 22, 2026.
The settlement record does not state an expected payout date, and no money has gone out yet. That is normal at this stage. Courts generally will not approve final payment until after the exclusion and objection window closes and the final approval hearing has taken place, and administrators typically wait for any appeal period to run before cutting checks. If you file a claim now, expect a wait before payment, not an immediate check.
Who Is in the Class
The court defined the class as "All persons residing in the United States whose Private Information was compromised in the Data Incident." Excluded are Lands' End and its directors and officers, governmental entities, the judge in the case along with the judge's immediate family and court staff, and anyone who timely and validly excludes themselves.
Receiving a notice is strong evidence of membership, not the definition itself: the notice tells recipients that Lands' End's records indicate they are Settlement Class Members. If you received a written or emailed notice from Lands' End or from the settlement administrator referencing this incident, you are very likely a class member. If you are unsure whether you were notified, the official settlement site, landsenddatasettlement.com, is the place to check, not a search engine result or a text message claiming to represent the settlement.
How Much People Realistically Get
There are two payment paths, and most people will use the first one. The settlement offers a flat $60.00 cash payment with no documentation required at all. You do not need receipts, bank statements, or any proof of loss to claim it. That is the realistic number to expect if you file a basic claim.
The settlement also allows claims of up to $5,000.00 for documented out-of-pocket losses that you can tie directly to the breach, things like identity theft or fraud losses, fees for credit reports, credit monitoring, or credit freezes, the cost to replace your IDs, or postage to contact banks by mail. The $5,000.00 figure is a ceiling, not a typical payment, and it requires supporting documentation. The official notice describes the flat payment as "expected to be $60.00." According to the notice, Class Counsel will ask the court to approve $285,000.00 in attorneys' fees and litigation costs and service awards for the class representatives, and those amounts will be paid by Lands' End. No specific dollar amount is guaranteed to any claimant.
The settlement notice does not describe a common fund or disclose a total settlement amount, so this page does not state one. Do not trust a number quoted anywhere else without a source.
What Proof You Need
For the $60.00 flat payment, none. That option exists precisely so class members who were exposed but have not suffered a quantifiable loss can still be compensated for the incident itself.
For a documented-loss claim up to $5,000.00, you need records that support the loss, such as statements showing fraudulent charges, receipts for credit monitoring or credit freezes you paid for, or other documentation tying the expense to this specific breach. Two limits apply: the losses must have occurred between December 6, 2024, and October 22, 2026, and you cannot claim expenses that have already been reimbursed by a third party. Notes you write yourself can support other proof but are not enough on their own.
How to File
Claims are submitted only through the official settlement website, landsenddatasettlement.com, which is administered by Simpluris. The site explains the claim form and both payment options. RecordingLaw.com is an independent publisher; we are not the court, the administrator, or a claims center, and you cannot file a claim on this page. If a claim deadline has not yet passed, October 22, 2026 for this settlement, filing directly on the official site is the only way to be considered for payment.
Free Monitoring Included in the Settlement
Before weighing any paid identity protection product, know that this settlement already includes two years of CyEx Financial Shield Complete at no cost to class members who are eligible. According to the official settlement FAQ, that coverage comes with $1 million of financial fraud insurance and monitoring for fraud or identity theft, unauthorized financial transactions, and personal information tied to high-risk transactions. Enrollment codes were mailed to class members by postcard, and activation is expected once the settlement becomes final. If you received a postcard with a code and have not activated it, check the official settlement site before assuming the benefit does not apply to you.
Protect Yourself, Whether or Not You File a Claim
Because this breach exposed Social Security numbers and government ID numbers, and not just an email address or password, the identity-theft risk here is real and worth acting on regardless of whether you file a claim or how much you might eventually receive.
Start with a free credit freeze at all three major credit bureaus. A freeze is free by law, it blocks new accounts from being opened in your name without your explicit unlocking of it, and it does not cost anything to place or lift. Pair that with a visit to IdentityTheft.gov, the federal government's own recovery site, if you notice any signs of misuse. Watch your bank and credit card statements for unfamiliar activity in the months ahead, since stolen Social Security numbers are sometimes used well after the breach that exposed them.
After the Settlement's Free Coverage Ends
A credit freeze at Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion is free and comes first. If you are an eligible class member, the settlement's two years of CyEx Financial Shield Complete, with $1 million of financial fraud insurance, costs you nothing: activate it with the code from your postcard once the settlement becomes final, and use it before paying for anything. If your Social Security number was in the exposed data and you want alerts to continue once those two years are over, Aura offers three-bureau credit monitoring and alerts if your Social Security number is found on the dark web.
See What Aura MonitorsAffiliate disclosure: if you sign up through this link we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Lands' End data breach settlement still open?
Yes. As of September 2026, the claims period for the Lands' End data breach settlement is open, with a claim deadline of October 22, 2026.
How much money will I get from the Lands' End settlement?
Most claimants can choose a $60.00 flat cash payment with no documentation required. You may instead claim up to $5,000.00 if you have records documenting out-of-pocket losses from the breach. The official notice says the flat payment is expected to be $60.00, and no specific amount is guaranteed.
Do I need to submit proof to get paid from the Lands' End settlement?
Not for the $60.00 flat payment; no documentation is required for that option. Proof is required only if you are claiming the higher, documented-loss amount of up to $5,000.00.
What is the difference between the opt-out deadline and the claim deadline?
Opting out (excluding yourself) means leaving the settlement to keep your right to sue separately, and it must be done by October 7, 2026. Filing a claim for payment is separate and has a later deadline, October 22, 2026. You cannot both opt out and receive a payment from this settlement.
What is the difference between objecting and opting out of the Lands' End settlement?
Objecting means staying in the class while telling the court in writing that you think the settlement terms are unfair; opting out means leaving the class entirely and giving up any payment from this settlement. Both have the same October 7, 2026 deadline, but they are not the same action.
When will the Lands' End settlement receive final approval?
A final approval hearing is scheduled for November 6, 2026, in the Circuit Court for Iowa County, Wisconsin. As of September 2026, no payout date has been set, since the court typically will not order payments until after final approval and any appeal period.
Who is administering the Lands' End data breach settlement?
Simpluris is the court-appointed settlement administrator. Claims and questions should go through the official site, landsenddatasettlement.com, not a third-party site.
What personal information was exposed in the Lands' End breach?
According to the settlement notice, the December 2024 incident exposed names, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, driver's license or passport numbers, and, for some individuals, medical information.
Is the $60 Lands' End settlement payment taxable?
It depends on what the payment is meant to replace, and that can vary by claimant. This is not tax advice; consult a tax professional or see IRS guidance on the taxability of legal settlements.
How to tell a settlement notice is real
Check the case name, case number, and court against the official settlement site. Go to that site directly instead of clicking a link in an email or text. Nobody legitimate will call, text, or email out of the blue asking for your Social Security number, bank account, or card details, and nobody will charge you to file. Report anyone who does at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Already have a notice with a link or sender address? Paste it into our settlement notice checker to compare it with the official claim sites we track.
Informational only. Not legal, tax, or financial advice, and not affiliated with any settlement.
RecordingLaw.com is an independent legal-information publisher. We are not a law firm, not a settlement administrator, and not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any court, government agency, defendant, or claims administrator described on this page. Reading this page does not create an attorney-client relationship.
We do not process claims and we never collect your claim information. You cannot file a claim on RecordingLaw.com. To file, opt out, object, or check your status, use only the official settlement administrator identified above. We link to it for your convenience.
Filing a legitimate claim is free. No legitimate settlement or administrator will charge you a fee to file, or ask for your Social Security number, bank, or card details by unsolicited call, text, or email. If someone does, it is likely a scam. Report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Deadlines, amounts, and approval status change and are set by the court. We verify against the official administrator and court records, but confirm the current details on the official site before acting. Nothing here guarantees eligibility, a payment, or any amount. Settlement payments may be taxable. See IRS Publication 4345. and consult a tax professional. For advice about your specific situation, consult a licensed attorney in your state. Affiliate disclosure.
Updates
Corrected how the $60 payment and attorneys' fees work, stated the court's class definition and exclusions, and added the date and reimbursement limits on documented-loss claims.
Sources and References
- Lands' End Data Breach Settlement (Jones v. Lands' End) official settlement website(landsenddatasettlement.com)
- IdentityTheft.gov, federal government identity theft recovery site(identitytheft.gov).gov
- FTC Consumer Advice: What To Know About Credit Freezes and Fraud Alerts(consumer.ftc.gov).gov
- Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection: Identity Theft(datcp.wi.gov).gov
- IRS Publication 4345, Settlements, Taxability(irs.gov).gov
- Court-authorized notice, Jones, et al. v. Lands' End, Inc., Case No. 30301 (Iowa County, Wis. Cir. Ct.)(classaction.org)