FTC Refund Checks in the Mail: How to Tell a Real One From a Scam
Independently fact-checked against primary sources (last audited November 2, 2026). · 19 primary sources cited on this page. How we verify our legal content

FTC Refund Checks in the Mail: How to Tell a Real One From a Scam
The Federal Trade Commission sent six separate rounds of consumer redress payments in October 2026, by paper check, PayPal and Zelle. The agency's own test for sorting a real payment from a fake one is short: a genuine FTC refund never costs a fee.
Information last verified on November 2, 2026. This is a developing story; we update it as the record changes.
Status: All six October 2026 payment rounds are completed agency actions. The FTC has sent, or has started sending, every one of them, and the cash-by windows printed on the payments are now running. None of the six FTC program pages lists an open claim process, and the Avast page states the Commission is no longer accepting claims. As of November 2, 2026 the FTC's refund index shows no program dated November 2026. Every figure below comes from the program's own FTC page, read on November 2, 2026.
Jurisdiction scope: This article covers federal consumer redress programs administered by the Federal Trade Commission under the FTC Act and the Telemarketing Sales Rule. It does not cover private class-action settlements, state attorney general restitution funds, IRS or Social Security payments, or the tax treatment of any payment. For the wider pattern of criminals posing as federal agencies, see how scammers pose as federal agencies.
What Happened
In October 2026 the FTC's refund index carried six programs, each one a distribution of money the agency had already collected in an enforcement matter. On October 15, 2026 the Commission announced it was sending 65,022 checks totaling more than $9.8 million to people who completed eligible money transfers at Walmart stores between January 2015 and December 2024. The largest program by headcount is Cleo AI: 2,124,796 PayPal payments totaling more than $15.8 million, which the FTC said would begin going out on October 27, 2026. AdvoCare, Avast, GOAT and Razer complete the list. As of November 2, 2026 the index shows no program dated November 2026.
| Program | Total | Payments | Method | Cash or accept within |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleo AI | more than $15.8 million | 2,124,796 | PayPal | 30 days to accept |
| AdvoCare | more than $11.4 million | 170,571 | check or PayPal | 90 days check, 30 days PayPal |
| Walmart | more than $9.8 million | 65,022 | paper check | 90 days |
| Avast | more than $1.5 million | 91,093 | check, PayPal or Zelle | 90 days check |
| GOAT | more than $100,000 | 6,205 | check or PayPal | 90 days check, 30 days PayPal |
| Razer | not stated on the program page | not stated | PayPal | 30 days to accept |
The FTC publishes a refund administrator and a phone number next to each program name on its index, and one administrator can run several programs: Rust Consulting runs three of the October 2026 six. For the October 2026 round those are Rust Consulting at 1-833-472-1990 (Walmart), Rust Consulting at 1-877-788-4958 (Cleo AI), Rust Consulting at 1-866-290-0165 (Avast), Analytics Consulting at 1-855-744-1802 (AdvoCare), JND Legal Administration at 1-888-970-2410 (GOAT) and Simpluris at 1-833-285-3003 (Razer). The FTC's advice is to verify a call against that published list rather than against the caller.
Three of the six are repeat distributions rather than first payments. The AdvoCare page says the FTC first sent payments in May 2022, producing more than $137.8 million in refunds, and that the October 2026 round goes to people who accepted their first payment. The Avast page records a first round in December 2025 of more than $13.5 million and says all available funds have now been distributed. The GOAT page says GOAT itself issued refunds in 2025 that returned more than $736,000 to eligible customers, and that this FTC round pays people who paid GOAT for expedited shipping between 2020 and 2024 and did not get a refund from the company. The Razer page says the FTC first sent checks in January 2025, which resulted in more than $906,000 in refunds, and that it is now sending PayPal payments to people who did not cash that check; the page states no total and no payment count for the October 2026 round. Our earlier report on the Cleo AI payments covers that program in more detail.
The Walmart figures sit on top of a settlement, not a verdict. The FTC's release says that in June 2025 Walmart settled FTC charges that the company failed to implement effective anti-fraud policies and procedures, did not properly train its employees, and failed to warn customers about potential fraud related to money transfers, all according to the complaint. The stipulated order filed in the Northern District of Illinois on June 20, 2025 is explicit about what was and was not resolved.
"Defendant neither admits nor denies any of the allegations in the Complaint, except as specifically stated in this Order. Only for purposes of this action, Defendant admits the facts necessary to establish jurisdiction." Source: FTC v. Walmart Inc., No. 1:22-cv-03372 (N.D. Ill.), Stipulated Order for Injunction and Monetary Judgment, Dkt. 102-1, filed June 20, 2025, Findings para. 3
That order enters a judgment of $10,000,000 against Walmart as monetary relief, payable to the Commission within seven days of entry. Every description of Walmart's conduct in this article, and on the FTC's own pages, is an allegation from the complaint rather than a finding of liability. For the other five programs we did not establish whether the defendants admitted anything, so the FTC's accounts of their conduct should also be read as allegations.

What the Law Actually Says
A refund program is the tail end of a lawsuit, and the provision that makes the money possible is not the one most readers would guess.
Section 5(a) of the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 45(a), is the prohibition. It makes unfair or deceptive acts or practices in or affecting commerce unlawful, and standing alone it supports an administrative proceeding and a cease and desist order, not a payment to any consumer.
Section 13(b), 15 U.S.C. 53(b), lets the Commission go straight to a federal district court and ask for a permanent injunction. The Commission also came to use that provision to obtain restitution and disgorgement, a practice the AMG syllabus describes as an increasing tendency to seek monetary awards without first using the agency's administrative process. In 2021 the Supreme Court held it may not.
"Section 13(b) does not authorize the Commission to seek, or a court to award, equitable monetary relief such as restitution or disgorgement." Source: AMG Capital Management, LLC v. FTC, 593 U.S. 67 (2021) (syllabus, Held)
The Court was not saying the agency can never recover money. It pointed to two other provisions. Section 5(l), 15 U.S.C. 45(l), permits civil penalties and further equitable relief after a final cease and desist order has issued. Section 19, 15 U.S.C. 57b, authorizes district courts, subject to conditions and limitations, to grant relief the court finds necessary to redress injury to consumers.
Section 19 has two doors, and the difference explains a great deal about how the FTC now pleads its cases. Under 15 U.S.C. 57b(a)(2) the Commission sues after a final cease and desist order, and the court may grant relief only if the Commission satisfies it that the conduct was one "a reasonable man would have known under the circumstances was dishonest or fraudulent." Under 15 U.S.C. 57b(a)(1) the Commission may sue directly, with no prior administrative order, over a violation of one of its own trade regulation rules. The remedy available under either door is broad.
"The court in an action under subsection (a) shall have jurisdiction to grant such relief as the court finds necessary to redress injury to consumers ... Such relief may include, but shall not be limited to, rescission or reformation of contracts, the refund of money or return of property, the payment of damages, and public notification respecting the rule violation or the unfair or deceptive act or practice, as the case may be; except that nothing in this subsection is intended to authorize the imposition of any exemplary or punitive damages." Source: 15 U.S.C. 57b(b)
Section 19 also carries a three-year limit. Under 15 U.S.C. 57b(d) the Commission generally may not bring an action more than three years after the rule violation or the unfair or deceptive practice it targets.
That is why the agency's own rules carry weight well beyond the conduct they describe. The Telemarketing Sales Rule, 16 C.F.R. part 310, is a trade regulation rule of exactly the kind 57b(a)(1) contemplates, and the Telemarketing and Consumer Fraud and Abuse Prevention Act directs that the Commission prevent violations of it "in the same manner, by the same means, and with the same jurisdiction, powers, and duties" as under the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 6105(b).
The Walmart order shows the whole architecture in one document. Its preamble recites Sections 13(b) and 19 of the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 53(b) and 57b, together with 15 U.S.C. 6105(b). Finding 2 records that the complaint charged violations of Section 5(a), the Telemarketing Act at 15 U.S.C. 6101 to 6108, and the Telemarketing Sales Rule at 16 C.F.R. part 310. The order then enters the $10,000,000 judgment without allocating it to any one of those provisions, so the order text by itself does not tell a reader which authority carries the money.
Two consequences follow for anyone holding a payment. First, the money is the defendant's money rather than an appropriation. Paragraph E of the Walmart judgment provides that all money received by the Commission under the order may be deposited into a fund administered by the Commission or its designee, to be used for consumer relief such as redress and any attendant expenses of administering a redress fund. Second, nobody is made whole by formula. The FTC's description of its own process says that in most of its cases "the money is distributed on a pro rata basis," meaning each recipient receives an equal percentage of their total loss, and that administrative costs are paid out of the same fund. The agency also says it generally does not mail checks of less than $10.
The claims question follows from the same design. Because the FTC usually works from a defendant's customer list rather than from applications, its refund FAQ states that "Most FTC cases do not require you to file a claim," and that it requests claims when it does not have the information it needs. That is consistent with what the six October 2026 pages show: only the Avast page discusses a claims process at all, and it says the deadline was June 5, 2025 and that the FTC is no longer accepting claims.

How to Tell a Real FTC Payment From a Scam
Start with the one rule the FTC repeats across every page in this family. A real refund never costs anything, and it never requires you to hand over account details to release it.
"The Commission never requires people to pay money or provide account information to get a payment." Source: FTC press release, Oct. 15, 2026
The agency's refund FAQ says the same thing about information as well as money: the FTC never requires upfront fees and never asks for sensitive information such as a Social Security number or bank account number, and it tells readers, "Never pay money or give sensitive financial information to get a refund payment from the FTC." Its consumer-facing page on refund and recovery scams is blunter still, instructing readers, "Never pay upfront for a refund or help with a refund," and stating that "Government agencies and legitimate organizations will never ask for money to help you get a refund."
The second rule is that verification runs through a published list rather than through the message in front of you. The FTC's position is that "Whenever there's an FTC refund program, information is available at ftc.gov/refunds," and that "You can find and verify the phone numbers for FTC refund programs at ftc.gov/refunds." That is a different instruction from judging whether a letter looks official: what gets checked is the program and the number, not the polish of the approach.
The third rule is about payment method. On the refund and recovery scams page the FTC lists the methods that mark a fraud, including cash, gift cards, cryptocurrency, wire transfers through services such as Western Union or MoneyGram, and payment apps, and states flatly, "Anyone who says you have to pay in any of these ways is a scammer." Gift cards in particular are a durable favorite because the value moves instantly and is hard to claw back, which is why gift cards keep turning up in scam demands.
None of this is hypothetical in the same month the payments went out. The Walmart refund page itself carries the line "Scammers are impersonating the FTC," and says the agency will never threaten a consumer, tell them they must transfer money to get a refund, or promise a prize. On October 22, 2026, one week after the Walmart release, the FTC published a consumer alert about an active campaign in which callers claim a phone number registered to the recipient is being used for scams abroad, threaten to deactivate the number, hand the call to a fake police officer, and demand a security deposit. One of the alert's four "never ever" lines is that "A real FTC employee will never ever reach out to ask you to send money, and will never connect you to someone who says to send money." That alert says nothing about refunds, which is rather the point: the same agency name arrives in the same month attached to two completely unrelated approaches, one of which is real.
If a call, letter or message claiming to be from the FTC asks for money or account details, the agency's instruction is to report it, at ReportFraud.ftc.gov and to a state attorney general. Which office actually handles a given report depends on the conduct, and we have a plain-language guide to which agency takes which kind of scam report.
We should be equally plain about our own position. Recording Law has no role in any FTC refund program. We cannot look up a payment, confirm that any particular check is genuine, or tell anyone whether they are on a distribution list. The program pages and the administrator phone numbers published at ftc.gov/refunds are the FTC's designated channels for exactly that question.
What Happens Next
The windows printed on the payments are the live element. The four programs that send paper checks (Walmart, AdvoCare, Avast and GOAT) ask recipients to cash them within 90 days. The Cleo AI, AdvoCare, GOAT and Razer pages ask recipients to accept a PayPal payment within 30 days; the Avast page, which lists check, PayPal and Zelle, gives the 90-day window for checks and states no deadline for the electronic options. The refund FAQ says that where a check has expired and money remains in the settlement fund, the FTC may be able to reissue the payment, and that if you ask for a check instead of a PayPal payment, it will be at least 45 days from the initial payment date before the FTC can issue the check, because it must wait for PayPal to return the payment first.
What happens to the remainder is a matter of published process rather than discretion in any individual case. The FTC says it sends unused funds to the U.S. Treasury or to co-plaintiffs as required by the court and applicable law, that a program generally closes when there is not enough left for another round or consumers have received full refunds, and that "The FTC sends money that cannot be distributed to consumers to the U.S. Treasury." The agency reports that on average the money sent to the U.S. Treasury accounts for less than five percent of the total funds collected. A further round is possible but conditional: AdvoCare, Avast and Razer are themselves second rounds, and the FTC's process page says a later payment generally requires that the consumer cashed the previous one. The Razer round runs the other way, which shows that generalization is not a rule: its page says the FTC is now sending PayPal payments to people who did not cash their January 2025 check.
On the impersonation side, the rule the FTC uses against people posing as government agencies is already in force. The Rule on Impersonation of Government and Businesses, 16 C.F.R. part 461, took effect on April 1, 2024, published at 89 FR 15017 on March 1, 2024. As of October 29, 2026 the Code of Federal Regulations shows the part with three sections, 461.1 through 461.3, covering definitions, impersonation of government and impersonation of businesses. On October 1, 2026 the Commission published an advance notice of proposed rulemaking, 91 FR 62347, asking whether to reach search engine, social media and other digital marketplace platforms that carry government and business impersonation advertising; comments on it close on November 30, 2026. We have covered the FTC's impersonation rule and that proposal separately.
The things that would change this article are specific: a new program appearing on the FTC refund index, an FTC announcement of a further distribution in one of the six matters, or a notice that a claims process has opened. We will update it if any of those happens.
Analysis: Why This Matters
The following is analysis from the Recording Law Editorial Team.
The structural difficulty in this story is that the genuine payment and the fraud arrive through the same channels in the same month, and the genuine one looks less plausible. An unexpected PayPal payment from a federal agency, with no application ever filed, reads exactly like bait. That impression is a direct consequence of how Section 19 redress actually operates. Because the FTC generally works from the defendant's own customer records rather than from consumer applications, most of the people in these six programs never asked for anything and had no reason to expect a payment. The agency's own FAQ concedes the shape of the problem when it says most of its cases do not require a claim.
That is also why the FTC's verification advice is built the way it is. Rather than ask readers to assess whether a message feels official, the agency publishes every program with its administrator's phone number and tells people to check the list. It is the rare piece of consumer guidance that does not degrade as impostors improve: a caller can reproduce letterhead, a case name and a dollar figure, but cannot change what is printed at ftc.gov/refunds.
The figures also deserve a sober reading. Across the Cleo AI program, more than $15.8 million divided among 2,124,796 payments works out to an average in the single dollars. That is not a criticism of the distribution; it is what pro rata division of a fixed fund, net of administration, produces. Section 19 authorizes relief the court finds necessary to redress injury to consumers, and the Walmart order's redress paragraph expressly contemplates that administrative expenses come out of the same fund. A reader who expects a payment proportional to what they lost is working from a different model of the statute than the one Congress wrote. We state no view on what any individual payment will be or whether any individual is entitled to one.
Finally, the admissions point is not a technicality. Walmart's order records that it neither admits nor denies the allegations and waives any appeal, and the FTC's public account of what happened is drawn from the complaint. That is the ordinary shape of a negotiated resolution, and it is the reason careful writing about these programs describes alleged conduct rather than proven conduct. It also sets the limit of what the existence of a refund tells a reader: a distribution establishes that a defendant paid money the Commission then returned to consumers, not that a court found anyone liable. Impersonation of federal agencies is a separate problem the Commission is still actively rulemaking about, and the October 2026 payment wave is a reminder that agency legitimacy is itself a resource criminals borrow.
This is general legal information, not legal advice. It covers federal FTC consumer redress programs and reflects sources verified on November 2, 2026. Recording Law is not affiliated with the Federal Trade Commission or any refund administrator, and we do not process, track, or check eligibility for any refund. Consult a lawyer licensed in your jurisdiction about your specific situation.
Related articles
- How scammers pose as federal agencies
- Which agency takes which kind of scam report
- Why gift cards keep turning up in scam demands
- The FTC's impersonation rule and platform advertising
Last updated: 2026-11-02. This is a developing story; details verified as of 2026-11-02.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is an unexpected FTC refund check real?
As of November 2, 2026 all six October 2026 FTC payment rounds are completed agency actions, their cash-by windows are running, and none of the six FTC program pages lists an open claim process. It can be. The FTC does send checks and electronic payments to people who never applied, because it generally uses the defendant's own customer list rather than claim forms. The FTC's instruction is to check the program and the administrator's phone number on its published list at ftc.gov/refunds. Recording Law cannot verify any individual payment.
Does the FTC charge a fee to send a refund?
No. The FTC's October 15, 2026 release states that the Commission never requires people to pay money or provide account information to get a payment, and its refund FAQ says the FTC never requires upfront fees and never asks for sensitive information such as a Social Security or bank account number.
How long do I have to cash an FTC refund check?
The four October 2026 programs that send paper checks (Walmart, AdvoCare, Avast and GOAT) ask recipients to cash them within 90 days of the date on the check. The Cleo AI, AdvoCare, GOAT and Razer pages ask recipients to accept a PayPal payment within 30 days. The FTC's refund FAQ says that if a check has expired and money remains in the settlement fund, it may be able to reissue the payment.
Can I still file a claim for the Walmart, Cleo AI, AdvoCare, Avast, GOAT or Razer refunds?
The Avast page states that the FTC is no longer accepting claims and that the claims deadline was June 5, 2025. The Walmart, Cleo AI, AdvoCare, GOAT and Razer pages mention no claim form or deadline, and the FTC's refund FAQ states that most FTC cases do not require you to file a claim. Eligibility for each program is defined on that program's FTC page.
Why would an FTC payment be far smaller than what I lost?
The FTC says that in most of its cases the money is distributed on a pro rata basis, so each recipient receives an equal percentage of their total loss, and that the costs of administering the fund are paid out of the fund itself. The money comes from what the agency collected in the case, not from an appropriation.
Does the FTC send refunds through PayPal or Zelle?
For the October 2026 programs, yes in part. The FTC's pages describe Cleo AI as PayPal only, Razer as PayPal only, Avast as check, PayPal or Zelle, AdvoCare and GOAT as check or PayPal, and Walmart as paper checks. The Cleo AI page says eligibility notices came by email from no-reply@consumersentinel.gov. A sender address is not proof on its own, so the FTC points readers back to the program list at ftc.gov/refunds.
How do I report someone pretending to be the FTC?
The FTC tells consumers to report refund and recovery scams at ReportFraud.ftc.gov and to their state attorney general. Its October 22, 2026 consumer alert repeats that a real FTC employee will never reach out to ask you to send money.
Updates
Independently fact-checked against the cited primary sources
Sources and References
- Federal Trade Commission, "FTC Sends More than $9.8 Million to Consumers Harmed by Walmart's Failure to Stop Scammers that Used its Wire Transfer Services to Take Millions from Customers," press release, Oct. 15, 2026(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Walmart Refunds" program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Cleo AI Refunds" program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "AdvoCare Refunds" program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Avast Settlement" refund program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "GOAT Refunds" program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Razer Refunds" program page (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Active FTC Refund Programs" index at ftc.gov/refunds (accessed Nov. 2, 2026)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "Refund Programs: Frequently Asked Questions"(www.ftc.gov).gov
- Federal Trade Commission, "How the FTC Provides Refunds"(www.ftc.gov).gov
- FTC Consumer Advice, "Refund and Recovery Scams"(consumer.ftc.gov).gov
- FTC Consumer Alert, "The FTC is not calling to deactivate your phone number," Oct. 22, 2026(consumer.ftc.gov).gov
- FTC v. Walmart Inc., No. 1:22-cv-03372 (N.D. Ill.), Stipulated Order for Injunction and Monetary Judgment, Dkt. 102-1, filed June 20, 2025 (Findings paras. 2-3; Monetary Judgment paras. A-B, E)(www.ftc.gov).gov
- AMG Capital Management, LLC v. Federal Trade Commission, 593 U.S. 67 (2021) (United States Reports vol. 593, Part 1, preliminary print, at 67)(www.supremecourt.gov).gov
- 15 U.S.C. 57b, Civil actions for violations of rules and cease and desist orders respecting unfair or deceptive acts or practices (U.S. Code, 2023 ed., via GPO)(www.govinfo.gov).gov
- 15 U.S.C. 6105, Administration and applicability of chapter (Telemarketing and Consumer Fraud and Abuse Prevention Act) (U.S. Code, 2023 ed., via GPO)(www.govinfo.gov).gov
- Trade Regulation Rule on Impersonation of Government and Businesses, final rule, 89 FR 15017 (Mar. 1, 2024), effective Apr. 1, 2024 (Federal Register API record, document 2024-04335)(www.federalregister.gov).gov
- Rule on Impersonation of Government and Businesses, advance notice of proposed rulemaking, 91 FR 62347 (Oct. 1, 2026), comments due Nov. 30, 2026 (Federal Register API record, document 2026-20143)(www.federalregister.gov).gov
- 16 C.F.R. part 461, Rule on Impersonation of Government and Businesses, sections 461.1 to 461.3 in force (eCFR structure API, title 16 as of Oct. 29, 2026)(www.ecfr.gov).gov