North Dakota License Points Lookup
Enter your point total to see where it sits against North Dakota's levels, how long points count, and whether a course can help, from North Dakota Department of Transportation, Driver License Division and North Dakota law. Runs in your browser; nothing is stored.
Official sources checked on October 21, 2026.
Use the total from your official driving record if you have it.
Or add up violations
Point values from the state schedule. Tick each conviction.
Uses a point system
North Dakota
North Dakota enters points on the driving record for traffic convictions and admissions. At 12 or more points, driving privileges are suspended for 7 days for each point over 11; drivers under 18 have their license canceled at 6 or more points.
Other consequences
After a points suspension is served, the point total is reduced to 11, and a new suspension is ordered if it reaches 12 again.
Other consequences
Reinstatement after a suspension for accumulating 12 or more points requires a $50 reinstatement fee.
How long points count
Points do not expire on a fixed date; instead 1 point is removed for every 3 months with no new point violations, counted from the date the last violation was entered. Points are not reduced while a points suspension or cancellation is being served.
Point reduction or driver improvement
An approved defensive driving course reduces the point total by 3, once every 12 months, and by no more than 9 points in a three-year period. For some violations of 5 or fewer points, a course can be taken in lieu of the points being entered.
Check your official record
NDDOT: Driver Record Services (Request a Copy of Your Driving Record)
A complete record requires form SFN 51386 by mail; the online request gives a limited record only. The page does not state a fee.
Runs in your browser. Nothing you choose or type is stored or sent.
How North Dakota license points work
North Dakota enters points on the driving record for traffic convictions and admissions. At 12 or more points, driving privileges are suspended for 7 days for each point over 11; drivers under 18 have their license canceled at 6 or more points. (NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule)
The rule is set in N.D. Cent. Code 39-06.1-10.
North Dakota point levels
Adult (full license)
- 12 points: license suspended for 7 days at 12 points, and 7 days for each point over 11 at 13 or more points, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing (N.D. Cent. Code 39-06.1-10)
Under 18
- 6 points: driving license or privileges canceled (NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule)
Points for common violations in North Dakota
| Violation | Points |
|---|---|
| Speeding 11-15 mph over (zones under 70 mph) | 1 |
| Speeding 16-20 mph over (zones under 70 mph) | 3 |
| Speeding 21-25 mph over (zones under 70 mph) | 5 |
| Speeding 26-35 mph over (zones under 70 mph) | 9 |
| Speeding 36-45 mph over (zones under 70 mph) | 12 |
| Disobeying traffic control signals | 2 |
| Failing to yield right-of-way | 2 |
| Careless driving | 6 |
| Overtaking a school bus | 6 |
| Reckless driving | 8 |
| Aggravated reckless driving | 12 |
The full schedule is in NDDOT: Driver License Points Schedule.
How long points count in North Dakota
Points do not expire on a fixed date; instead 1 point is removed for every 3 months with no new point violations, counted from the date the last violation was entered. Points are not reduced while a points suspension or cancellation is being served. (NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule)
Point reduction and driver improvement in North Dakota
An approved defensive driving course reduces the point total by 3, once every 12 months, and by no more than 9 points in a three-year period. For some violations of 5 or fewer points, a course can be taken in lieu of the points being entered. (NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule)
Other consequences
- After a points suspension is served, the point total is reduced to 11, and a new suspension is ordered if it reaches 12 again. (N.D. Cent. Code 39-06.1-12)
- Reinstatement after a suspension for accumulating 12 or more points requires a $50 reinstatement fee. (NDDOT: Driver Record Services and Suspensions)
What this page does not do
- It does not read your driving record. Only North Dakota Department of Transportation, Driver License Division can confirm your current total.
- It does not predict a suspension: levels count only convictions inside each window, and the agency decides.
- It does not cover commercial (CDL) disqualifications or DUI suspensions, which follow separate rules.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many points before your license is suspended or revoked in North Dakota?
North Dakota's first level for an adult license is 12 points: license suspended for 7 days at 12 points, and 7 days for each point over 11 at 13 or more points, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing. Lower levels apply to some younger or provisional drivers; see the levels above.
How long do points stay on your license in North Dakota?
Points do not expire on a fixed date; instead 1 point is removed for every 3 months with no new point violations, counted from the date the last violation was entered. Points are not reduced while a points suspension or cancellation is being served.
Can you remove points from your license in North Dakota?
An approved defensive driving course reduces the point total by 3, once every 12 months, and by no more than 9 points in a three-year period. For some violations of 5 or fewer points, a course can be taken in lieu of the points being entered.
How do I check my driving record in North Dakota?
Request it from North Dakota Department of Transportation, Driver License Division: NDDOT: Driver Record Services (Request a Copy of Your Driving Record). A complete record requires form SFN 51386 by mail; the online request gives a limited record only. The page does not state a fee.
Sources
- N.D. Cent. Code 39-06.1-10
- NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule
- NDDOT: Driver Record Services and Suspensions
Official sources checked on October 21, 2026. General information, not legal advice.
Related
Know someone who could use this? Share this free tool: